Thursday, 20 March 2014

Lowry, Hope Nominated For Awards

CALGARY, AB – The Western Hockey League announced today the Eastern and Western Conference 2014 WHL Award Finalists. The WHL Player of the Year finalists will be named on Thursday, April 17th, 2014. The winners of these awards along with the WHL Player of the Year will be announced at the 2014 WHL Awards Luncheon in Calgary, Alberta on Wednesday, April 30th, 2014.
The WHL Eastern and Western Conference All-Star Teams are as follows:


Goaltender – Tristan Jarry (Delta, BC), Edmonton Oil Kings
Defenceman – Josh Morrissey (Calgary, AB), Prince Albert Raiders
Defenceman – Ryan Pulock (Grandview, MB) Brandon Wheat Kings
Forward – Sam Reinhart (Vancouver, BC), Kootenay Ice *
Forward – Leon Draisaitl (Cologne, Germany), Prince Albert Raiders
Forward – Curtis Lazar (Vernon, BC), Edmonton Oil Kings


Goaltender – Patrik Bartosak (Koprivnice, CZR), Red Deer Rebels
Defenceman – Griffin Reinhart (West Vancouver, BC), Edmonton Oil Kings
Defenceman – Julius Honka (Jyvaskyla, Finland), Swift Current Broncos
Forward – Curtis Valk (Medicine Hat, AB), Medicine Hat Tigers
Forward – Jaedon Descheneau (Edmonton, AB), Kootenay Ice
Forward – Chandler Stephenson (Saskatoon, SK), Regina Pate



Goaltender – Jordon Cooke (Leduc, AB), Kelowna Rockets
Defenceman – Derrick Pouliot (Weyburn, SK), Portland Winterhawks
Defenceman – Shea Theodore (Aldergrove, BC), Seattle Thunderbirds
Forward – Nicolas Petan (Delta, BC), Portland Winterhawks *
Forward – Mitch Holmberg (Sherwood Park, AB), Spokane Chiefs *
Forward – Oliver Bjorkstrand (Herning, Denmark), Portland Winterhawks


Goaltender – Eric Comrie (Edmonton, AB), Tri-City Americans
Defenceman – Damon Severson (Melville, SK), Kelowna Rockets
Defenceman – Madison Bowey (Winnipeg, MB), Kelowna Rockets
Forward – Joshua Winquist (St. Albert, AB), Everett Silvertips
Forward – Todd Fiddler (Meadow Lake, SK), Prince George Cougars
Forward – Mike Aviani (North Vancouver, BC), Spokane Chiefs
* indicates unanimous selection

The WHL announced the 2014 Awards Finalists in the following categories:

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Nikita Scherbak (Moscow, Russia), Saskatoon Blades
Western Conference – Nick Merkley (Calgary, AB), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy

Eastern Conference – Tristan Jarry (Delta, BC), Edmonton Oil Kings
Western Conference – Jordon Cooke (Leduc, AB), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Josh Morrissey (Calgary, AB), Prince Albert Raiders
Western Conference – Derrick Pouliot (Weyburn, SK), Portland Winterhawk

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy
Eastern Conference – Sam Reinhart (Vancouver, BC), Kootenay Ice
Western Conference – Mitch Holmberg (Sherwood Park, AB), Spokane Chiefs

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Nelson Nogier (Saskatoon, SK) Saskatoon Blades
Western Conference – Dominic Turgeon (Cherry Hills, CO) Portland Winterhawks

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Shaun Clouston, Medicine Hat Tigers
Western Conference – Dave Lowry, Victoria Royals

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Mike Moore, Calgary Hitmen
Western Conference – Cam Hope, Victoria Royals

WHL Humanitarian of the Year, Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Sam Fioretti (Calgary, AB) Moose Jaw Warriors
Western Conference – Mitch Topping (Red Deer, AB) Tri City Americans

WHL Marketing / Business Award

Eastern Conference – Regina Pats
Western Conference – Seattle Thunderbirds

WHL Regular Season Champions, Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy

Kelowna Rockets: GP – 72 W – 57 L – 11 OTL – 0 SL – 4 Pts. – 118
WHL Top Scorer – Bob Clarke Trophy
Mitch Holmberg (Sherwood Park, AB), Spokane Chiefs
GP – 72 G – 62 A – 56 Pts – 118 PIM – 25

Victoria’s Cameron Hope finalist for Executive of the Year; Dave Lowry up for Coach of the Year.

For Immediate Release
Thursday, March 20, 2014

Victoria, BC – The Victoria Royals are pleased to announce that General Manager Cameron Hope has been named a finalist for the 2014 WHL Executive of the Year award while Head Coach Dave Lowry has been named a finalist for the 2014 WHL Coach of the Year award.

Hope is a finalist alongside the Eastern Conference’s Mike Moore (Calgary), while Lowry will compete against Shaun Clouston (Medicine Hat). Award winners will be announced at the 2014 WHL Awards Luncheon on April 30th in Calgary, AB.

Cameron Hope is currently in his second season as the club’s general manager. Hope is the second general manager in team’s history and fourth in the franchise’s history. From 2007 to 2011, Hope served as the assistant general manager for the NHL’s New York Rangers. Hope is a graduate of the University of Alberta, with degrees in Arts (Sociology) and Law.

Head Coach Dave Lowry is also in his second season with the Royals. This season, Lowry guided Victoria to a 48-20-1-3 record which set franchise records for both wins and points and has the club 10th in the BMO CHL Top 10 rankings heading into the WHL Playoffs. Under Coach Lowry, the Royals boasted the second-best defence in the WHL in 2013-14, allowing just 2.51 goals per game.

Since joining Victoria, Lowry has posted a 82-50-3-7 regular season record behind the Royals’ bench. Prior to joining Victoria, Lowry spent three seasons as an assistant coach of the NHL’s Calgary Flames and was also the head coach of the WHL’s Calgary Hitmen during the 2008-09 season when the Hitmen posted a 59-9-3-1 record en route to an Eastern Conference title. Before he became a coach, Lowry spent 19 years as a player in the NHL.

Single game tickets to the Royals’ 2014 WHL Playoff run versus the Spokane Chiefs are on sale now at the Select Your Tickets box office and start at just $13! Tickets are available at, by phone at 250-220-7777 or in-person at the Select Your Tickets box office.

Playoff packages and Royals 2014-15 season tickets are on sale now! Guarantee the BEST seats at the BEST prices with the BEST benefits for all 36 home games by visiting or calling 250-220-7889.